I Have a Gripe

January 1, 2010

An Open Letter to Chris Christie

Filed under: New Jersey,Politics — alvb1227 @ 12:31 am

As 2009 comes to an end (thankfully!), the great state of New Jersey will be getting a new Governor (again, thankfully!) very soon.

The day after the election, I sent Governor-Elect Chris Christie an email outlining my thoughts for his upcoming tenure as Governor. I have re-printed it below. I never heard from him or his office, but I hope someone read it and has taken it to heart.

Dear Mr. Christie and Ms. Guadagno,
First, I would like to congratulate you on a hard fought win. Our great state needs some common sense thinking and a new approach in an effort to move New Jersey forward to a more prosperous future.

I did want to share some thoughts I have as part of your constituency that I hope you will consider as you make plans for our state.

First, I hope you don’t use the “well, we inherited a mess” excuse each time you or someone on your team is asked a tough question. As I also wrote our President, you ran knowing what was ahead. You won and I congratulate you and wish you the best moving forward. Please don’t make excuses when asked tough questions about the past. Look to the future.

I know you did not support public question one. I did vote in favor of it and hope those funds will be distributed with common sense. While I do not feel bad for those who knowingly purchased homes in a flood zone, I do believe we need to preserve our heritage as The Garden State and keep the beautiful open spaces available to all our residents and those who visit it. It is the diversity of our state that makes me proud to be a true “Jersey Girl” and defend our state to those who make fun of it.

I know I don’t have to tell you what an embarrassment the corruption in our state is. I ask that you work to clean up this mess, as I am sure it is a fiscal waste and we don’t have a penny to spare. Also on the subject of fiscal responsibility, you know how expensive this state is. I completely disagree that those who are the most successful be expected to shoulder the load and be taxed beyond reality. If those who are successful, like small business owners, are taxed as high as our federal government would like for example, they will simply leave the state and take the jobs they create with them. Where would the want to succeed go? We will do nothing but foster a sea of mediocrity and that is not what we need. At the same time, taxes are killing us. I ask that you consider a second look at Mr. Longegan’s flat tax ideas. I think that is really the best way to provide tax relief and help our state, and mainly its politicians, learn how to live on a budget like we all do in our own households.

I also hope you will consider supporting art and music in our schools. If we teach our children only “core” subjects, they will not be a well-rounded, educated individual and not foster creativity which coupled with critical thinking is what will help ensure our state’s, and our country’s, success moving forward. It would also be nice to learn about our state’s, and our country’s, history and focus a little less on standardized tests that do nothing bug pigeonhole a child’s ability.

I consider myself a fiscal conservative and a social moderate. I hope you use the common sense God gave you as you make the important decisions for us moving forward and I will pray for your success. Our state depends on it.

Respectfully,
Andrea Lyn Van Benschoten

2 Comments »

  1. Well said, Andrea.

    While I am a bit more concerned about math & sciences than art & music, if I was still in NJ (having moved to FL 1 yr ago), I would echo & support your letter to Christie.

    I wish you all the best up there….

    Happy New Year!

    Sirrahc
    AViewFromTheRight.wordpress.com

    Comment by sirrahc — January 1, 2010 @ 3:30 am | Reply

  2. Amen, Andrea. I criticize Jersey as much as anyone–the high taxes, the corruption, the prevailing liberal politics, but this is our state damnit! And it’s never too late to turn things around. We need to move away from the good ‘ol boy, pay-to-play politics that has characterized the garden state for decades.

    Comment by Jason — January 2, 2010 @ 12:35 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

