I Have a Gripe

March 5, 2010

Does Anyone Really Care About the Oscars?

Filed under: Celebrity — alvb1227 @ 11:45 pm
Tags: ,

So, I’m watching the local news and I see teasers for the Oscars that takes place this Sunday. I used to watch them every so often when I was (much) younger, but in recent years, these awards shows hold little interest for me.

Let’s face it; people are loosing their jobs in record numbers, foreclosures are up and consumer confidence is down. Meanwhile, the self-absorbed Hollywood elite glam up in custom gowns and borrowed jewels to walk the red carpet and talk about themselves and their projects. In acceptance speeches, the average citizen is lectured about how we need to give and do more for those in our community who are less fortunate. They then go to opulent after parties and congratulate each other.

Seriously, does anyone really care? I really don’t need to be told that I should give back to my community, help those around me and worship Barack Obama  by these people when most of them are so far removed from real-life it is unreal. If you need to be told to be a positive influence on your community by celebrities, then you need more help than these people can supply.

So, I will not be watching the Oscars this Sunday. I feel there are much more important things to do.

1 Comment »

  1. I used to watch the oscars in college but I haven’t in a while. most of the times, the nominees and winners are for movies I haven’t even seen, and the acceptance speeches are like being at the Democratic national convention. Not to mention the fact that, over the years, they’ve steadily grown in a behemoth. If you cut out all the bs, they’d last about an hour.

    Comment by Jason — March 6, 2010 @ 12:39 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

