I Have a Gripe

September 13, 2010

Ines Sainz and Jets Organization: They are Both Wrong

As the Jets open their season in their new stadium, there is a side issue that has popped up regarding an unprofessional situation between Mexican Reporter Ines Sainz and members of the Jets organization.

According to reports, the “harassment” began while the players were on the field with plays being run near her and the football being thrown over her head. The attention continued while she was trying to do an interview with QB Sanchez in the locker room with commentary and cat calls. In my opinion, both sides are wrong.

My Message to Ines…

First off, look at her. She was wearing a top that she was busting out of and jeans at least one size too small. Her clothing was completely inappropriate. I have worked in male-dominated fields since college. You need to be ready to roll with the punches. Often the men I worked with would push it to the edge to see how I would react. Once they realized I wouldn’t have a fit every time they said something stupid, they settled down. If there was a time they would really push it over the edge, all it took was a look over the top of my glasses and they would dial it down. They would know they took it too far. I didn’t go to HR or hold a press conference. Ines, put your big girl pants on, that are the right size mind you, and recognize that you have dopey men around you and deal. Oh, and by the way, in 2008 when you were interviewing Patriots QB Tom Brady about what it would take for New England to beat the Jets? They were actually playing the Giants.

My Message for the Jets Organization…

OK boys, grow up. Like you have never seen a good looking woman before wearing inappropriate clothing. Instead of acting like a stereotypical idiot pro football player, act like a professional athlete. I know the bar has been set pretty low lately by your colleagues, but try to rise above it and act like adults. OK, she is a knockout. OK, she is dressing in order to get attention. Look beyond it and do your job instead of acting like a 12-year-old.

Like I said, they are both wrong. In the end, both sides want to be treated like professionals. Well how about acting like it. I know I will take some heat about “well, are you saying a rape victim ‘asked for it?'” Absolutely not. What I am saying is have your wits about you. I don’t walk down a dark alley alone. I don’t walk around the mall with my purse open. I don’t walk through a parking lot without my keys out, through my fingers without a clue where I parked. Don’t allow yourself to be in stupid situations and you will lower your chances of something stupid happening. Don’t dress like a tramp and you won’t be treated like one.

2 Comments »

  1. Ines Sainz and Jets Organization: They are Both Wrong…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

    Trackback by World Wide News Flash — September 14, 2010 @ 3:41 am | Reply

  2. Well said! If you want to be treated professionally present yourself as a professional. Man or woman

    Comment by Tom_Colorado — September 15, 2010 @ 1:51 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

