I Have a Gripe

September 18, 2010

OK, I’m Confused…And a Tad Annoyed

Filed under: General Annoyances — alvb1227 @ 3:41 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Today isn’t about taxes, the Obama Administration or even too tight jeans. This is about…e-book readers.

Yes, you read right. E-book readers. This is a personal issue. I’m confused…and a tad annoyed. I have wanted an e-reader for awhile now. I had one of the original RCA REV1100 readers, which was pretty cool. However, you couldn’t get any books for it! Please note, I purchased it as a closeout for $50, so I wasn’t so annoyed about it.

Now, I keep reader about all these tablets and e-book readers; iPad, Kindle, Pandigital, Sony, Nook. The list goes on and on.

I’ve always considered myself a fairly tech-savvy, nerd-like individual, but I have to admit, I can’t decide. The iPad is really cool, but do I really want to spend $500 plus? Not really. Especially not now. Plus, I left the “Apple religion” a long time ago. Do I really want to go back to a company that believes in proprietary hardware so they can attempt to control a market? And then whines when another company (like Adobe) when they don’t want to play in the same sandbox (a.k.a. Flash)? The Kindle’s price is right, but I also want to be able to surf the net. The Nook let’s you both read books and surf the net, but the screen is black and white. I thought the Pandigital Novel would be the answer, but the reviews are terrible. The new Samsung sounds really interesting, but the rumored price for no contract is $1000. Um, what? Why would I pay twice the price of an iPad?

I like the e-book reader as a convenient way to bring lots of books on vacation, the train and so on. My husband likes the idea that he won’t have to move 500 pounds of books each time we move to clean out the basement. Plus, we have the space limitation of a one-bedroom condo. Granted, if I want a crochet book, I’m going to buy the book, not an e-book, but it will drastically cut down on the “hard copies” I purchase.

So, welcome to my annoyance. Any suggestions?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

