I Have a Gripe

October 1, 2010

Feds Consider Buying Flood Zone Homes in NJ

So, I just saw a report on  my local ABC news station that there is a plan underway to either purchase homes that repeatedly flood in Little Falls, Pompton Plains and Wayne, NJ and level them in order to return the area to the marsh land it originally was or to raise the foundation of these homes, both at the cost of the taxpayers.

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing so I did some additional research online. Lo and behold, I found an article online about a grant that will raise the foundation of 34 homes. The real kicker to me is that people who are not eligible for this grant opportunity are actually complaining! A quote from the article reads: ‘Lisa Shoaib has one such home, directly on the banks of the Passaic. She is disappointed, asking “If it’s not the ones who are directly on the river like us, then who’s getting it?” ‘

Now, this is simply ridiculous. These people knowingly purchased a home in a flood zone. Now tax dollars are going to be used to purchase their homes or help raise their foundations? I’m sorry, but if you purchase a home in an flood zone, I have absolutely no sympathy for you. You rolled the dice. I’m not going to pay the bet when you loose.

We are not talking about some freak flood that reached an area that has never flooded before and these people need help. We are talking about people who were dumb enough to buy in towns like Pompton Plains, Little Falls and Wayne in NJ. Since I was a child, I watched flooding near the Willowbrook Mall. Flooding in this area is never a shocker. There are additional areas that flood regularly, but it seems the focus is always on these towns.

So, wise up people. You don’t want flood damage? Don’t buy a home on the banks of the Passaic River in a flood zone.

2 Comments »

  1. This is similar to my feelings about New Orleans. When you live below river level you should have a plan in place for when the inevitable happens.

    Comment by Tom — October 2, 2010 @ 4:42 pm | Reply

  2. […] on NorthJersey.com and I am just as sick now as I was the first time I read it. I even did a blog post about it awhile […]

    Pingback by Wayne, Flooding and Taxes « I Have a Gripe — March 11, 2011 @ 1:39 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

