I Have a Gripe

November 26, 2010

Small Business Saturday

Filed under: Economy — alvb1227 @ 10:13 pm
Tags: , ,

While we all like the convenience of the “big box” stores, we know that the backbone of this country is small business. Tomorrow is “Small Business Saturday,” which has been primarily sponsored and advertised by American Express.

Now, let me say first and foremost I think this is a great idea and I seriously hope people will embrace this idea and support their local town’s business. However, I do find it funny that in recent years American Express has embraced the importance of small business after all the financial mismanagement of large companies. I am sure they lost their lungs during the economic downturn. As these larger companies continue to solidify, I hope they do not forget those small businesses that get them through thick and thin, year after year.

So, if you are planning to do some shopping tomorrow and the rest of the holiday season, I hope you spend at least a bit of your shopping dollar at local businesses.

1 Comment »

  1. I think the Small Business Saturday concept is a great one and I hope people do respond. Yes, American Express is an odd sponsor, but I file this under “don’t throw the baby out with the bath water”. I know I will be shopping and dining at small, local establishments tomorrow. But I will be using cash or debit.

    Comment by College Counseling for the Rest of Us — November 26, 2010 @ 10:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

