I Have a Gripe

February 14, 2011

Teacher Suspended for Blogging About Students – A Different Perspective

Filed under: Education — alvb1227 @ 12:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

Last week, a Philly teacher was suspended for blogging about her “rude, disengaged, lazy whiners” of a classroom full of students. Of course, everyone is quick to beat up on the teacher. Now in the interest of fairness, I don’t know about her exact situation fully, but I thought I would provide a different perspective.

Many expect schools to provide both education and parenting. With schools providing in some cases three meals a day, after school care, full day kindergarten and more, I can understand how teachers can get easily frustrated. Parents expect the schools to do more and more…that is, until the schools attempts to reprimand students or correct poor or unacceptable behavior. Then they often step in.

From what I heard in an interview this morning, the teacher did not user her real name and did not use student names while blogging. Out of the 80-something entries over two years, about 20 were related to her job.

What really burns me about this whole story is that you have widely used websites like RateMyTeacher.com where students blog and openly complain about their teachers with no questions asked.

I hate to sound like one of those people, but when I was a student and came home to complain about a teacher, my parents would say “well, what did you do?” Now it is “what did the teacher do to upset you?” The roles have reversed and not always for the better.

Are there bad teachers? Of course. Just like there are bad accountants, police officers and office workers. Should those bad teachers be dealt with? Absolutely. But I ask where do the parents step in and, well…parent?

On Friday I saw an interview with a former student saying “she didn’t respect us.” Well my young man, respect goes both ways and is earned. It doesn’t sound like you and your classmates respected your teacher.

1 Comment »

  1. […] a recent post, I shared my opinions about a teacher that was suspended for blogging about her students that are “lazy, whiners.” Well, in an update, this teacher is […]

    Pingback by Support for Suspended Philly Teacher « I Have a Gripe — March 3, 2011 @ 2:21 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

