I Have a Gripe

June 19, 2011

The Ultimate in Helicopter Parents

Filed under: New York — alvb1227 @ 10:47 pm
Tags: ,

A woman in East Meadow, Long Island has been arrested for sending threatening letters to a little league coach after her son failed to  make the travel team.

Seriously?

Now, let’s think about this for a moment. Maybe the kid did his best and it wasn’t good enough. Maybe the kid doesn’t really want to do this and the mother is pushing this. Maybe the mother is just nuts. Whatever the reason, this is definitely the ultimate in “helicopter parenting.”

There is one lesson many children are missing in today’s “everyone’s a winner” society. Some people are just better at some things than others. Everyone is good at something; that “something” will be different for each person. For example, I loved music and band in high school; but I didn’t “have it” to go to the next level. Did that keep me from not loving it? From not doing my best? From participating? Certainly not. I recognized that there were others who were better at it than me and that was fine. I found what I excelled at later on in life. I’m good at crochet, writing, and printing/publishing technologies. I’m a good wife, Aunt, and Godmother. Those roles are just fine with me. And for the record, I was terrible at sports.

Parents like this woman work hard to live vicariously through their children, for whatever reason it may be is not my concern. Not every child can be a winner in everything. By learning what it is to win and what it is to lose, they learn important life lessons. This woman’s child will learn on his own what he does well. I hope she allows that to take place naturally.

Lesson: Don’t be a “helicopter parent.” Don’t hover.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

