I Have a Gripe

July 6, 2011

Casey Anthony Not Guilty…Seriously?

“Better that ten guilty persons escape than that one innocent suffer.”
~English jurist William Blackstone

Well, one of those 10 guilty persons definitely escaped today when the jury found Casey Anthony not guilty of the most serious charges against her.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t expect her to be found guilty of first degree murder, but I did expect her to be found guilty of all other charges. Like millions of Americans, I am stunned. I definitely have a gripe.

First, I’m sorry, she killed that poor little girl. Caylee definitely deserved a better mother. If you have a child, your partying days should be over. I certainly wouldn’t want to be in that house for the next Thanksgiving dinner.

Second, if that first police officer had thoroughly checked out the report of remains in a swamp, they might have been able to collect DNA or other evidence that could’ve helped to convict her. That was definitely a lost opportunity.

Third, I absolutely have a beef with the jury. I think part of it might have been that they wanted their lives back. They were tired of being away from their families, their jobs and their homes. When I heard they were back already, I was sure they were going to convict. I almost fell off my chair when I heard “not guilty.” Do you all think that a mother doesn’t report their child as missing for a month while she goes out partying, gets a tattoo, and lies to the police is normal? I’m not surprised that you didn’t want to talk to the press. Did you leave your common sense at home? Shame on you all.

I am disgusted with Casey Anthony’s legal team for their celebrating and Cheney Mason’s lecturing after the verdict. I know many attorneys and respect their work. There are many good lawyers and unfortunately, many ambulance chasers. As I joke often, “So tell me, when you are a defense attorney, do you go straight to Hell? Or do you have to change flights in Albuquerque?”

Finally, I weep for this poor little child who was tossed in a swamp like a common piece of garbage. Caylee Anthony certainly deserved a better mother and better protection. She did not receive justice. This was not some terminally ill child that a mother made an impossible, heart-wrenching decision to end that child’s suffering. She just wanted to party, plain and simple.

The saddest part is that there are children and innocent people killed every day that do not get the attention of this trial, which is just plain sad. It is just a reminder to all of us if you see something, say something. Be part of the solution. Stand up for what is right.

I do believe in Karma and it will definitely be a bitch when it comes around on Casey Anthony. This woman is a sociopath and will certainly do something again that will end her up in jail. I just hope that she only hurts herself and not anyone else. OJ Simpson is a perfect example.

Some day Casey Anthony will meet her Maker and I honestly believe she will need to answer for her sins. And for that she will rot in Hell.

1 Comment »

  1. The old refrain seems to be the quote (or some variation thereof) you listed above from William Blackstone. I just think there has to be a middle ground between the hypothetical system (which is always played as a foil for our system) where the accused are sentenced without a trial, and our system where criminals are given a surfeit of rights, and routinely get away with murder. All it takes is a slick lawyer and a gullible jury.

    Comment by Jason — July 6, 2011 @ 1:27 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

