I Have a Gripe

September 27, 2013

What Ever Happened to Loyalty?

Filed under: Celebrity,Economy,General Annoyances — alvb1227 @ 1:38 am
Tags: , , ,

“I’m just enjoying being here, and I’m going to enjoy the last day, being here with all these guys. Nobody said I’m leaving; nobody said I’m staying. I haven’t decided anything yet.” ~Robinson Cano

I have enjoyed watching sports since I was a kid. Whether it was football on Sunday or sitting with my Uncle Sonny on Saturdays as we ate the olives that were supposed to be for Sunday’s salad while we watched baseball. But I really can’t believe what professional sports is now.

I grew up watching Bradshaw play for the Steelers and Mattingly play for the Yankees. They played for the same teams their entire careers. They believed in loyalty and fans rooted for a team and typical working-class people could actually afford to go to a game or two during the season.

Fast forward to today…

Now, there are mega-stadiums with ticket prices that are just beyond reality. Tickets for a NY Giants game run from $110 to a ridiculous $725 and the cost to just park your car starts at $30. And why not? You have professional sports players like Robinson Cano of the Yankees expecting a $305 million for a 10-year deal, and if the Yankees don’t cough it up, he’ll just go somewhere else. Period.

Um, any of these guys ever hear of loyalty?

My husband and I will on occasion watch a Yankees game and always discuss how many empty seats there are behind home plate.

Now the capitalist in me says that they should  be able to charge what they want for tickets and players’ salaries should be based on what teams are willing to pay. But I have to say this is just so beyond reality it is offensive.

A large number of these guys can barely put two sentences together intelligently and speak like they have marbles in their mouth. In the football off season this year NFL players were arrested or charged with crimes at least 37 times, including 10 players accused of driving drunk and a murder indictment for ex-New England Patriot Aaron Hernandez, according to an article in USA Today.

Way to be good role models guys.

My beloved state will play host to the Super Bowl this season. I really wanted to get tickets figuring this is the closest I will ever get to see one in person. Do you know how much it will cost for nosebleeds? $3,000! So much for going to the game.

What happened to fathers taking their sons to a baseball game?  Can anyone afford this any more? I am guessing this is why minor league ball is becoming so popular. People can actually afford the prices.

There are lessons that can be learned from sports – being a good winner, a gracious loser, teamwork, fair play, work ethic, the list could easily go on. Unfortunately, all too many players today are about greed, excessive lifestyles, a lack of education, and a complete lack of respect for the law.

Oh yeah, and a lack of loyalty.

Like I said, way to be good roles models guys.

1 Comment »

  1. I find this funny, not in a “Ha-Ha” kinda way, more of sad amusement. I get paid a salary to do my job and, being as I’m in IT, I’m expected to perform well all the time – especially when under duress…
    How is that these mega-millionaires can fall into slumps – sometimes for years – and still maintain those salaries? I’d like to suggest a pay-for-play salary schedule. If you perform up to snuff, you get paid for that game. Fall into a slump and you don’t get paid until you come out of it. That’d certainly light a fire under these guys and probably even bring down prices of seats… Why can’t there be more Peyton Mannings in the (sports) world?

    Naw, who am I kidding? The world is ruled by the Almighty Dollar (and I’m wondering when I’ll see some of it…). ;>)

    Comment by Henry — September 27, 2013 @ 8:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

