I Have a Gripe

November 10, 2013

Just Say No to Shopping on Thanksgiving

Filed under: Economy,General Annoyances — alvb1227 @ 4:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I am not ashamed to say I love a good deal. I clip coupons. I comparison shop. Most importantly, I hate paying full price for anything. However, I do draw a line – Thanksgiving weekend shopping.

I absolutely hate the idea of “Black Friday.” People waking up before the crack of dawn and fight the crowds in an attempt to get a good deal. Now, retail has taken it one step further and many have decided to open on Thanksgiving itself. It is often the ultimate display of bad behavior.

Many stores opened at midnight last year. Well, now many more are opening on Thanksgiving. I was at Kohl’s this week and while chatting with an employee I was told they are opening at 8:00 p.m. and managers need to be on site two hours earlier. I find this completely offensive. When do these employees get to spend time with their families?

Thanksgiving is a completely American holiday that has been all about family time for generations. Watching football, playing board games, and of course, a wonderful meal. People donate to food pantries and think about those who are less fortunate. This push for more and more retail activity during this time of year says two things to me.

First, it says we are moving for and more to a gift-based society instead of remembering what this season is all about. Christmas and Hanukkah are supposed to be celebrations of faith and family. Now it is about beating someone else out for the hot toy.

Second, it tells me that the economy is still very weak. I started seeing commercials, store displays, and “pre-Black Friday” sales at the end of August. Pretty soon we are going to start to see promotions year round!

It is just ridiculous.

I call on everyone to let these retailers know that this is not acceptable and stay home on Thanksgiving and enjoy your family.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

