I Have a Gripe

April 27, 2014

Think Beyond the Bubbles – Part One in a Series

Filed under: Education,Music Education — alvb1227 @ 1:50 pm
Tags: , ,

Think beyond the bubblesThe more I watch the news and hear about what is going on in public education, the more annoyed I become. This post is the first in a series focusing on what I think is wrong with public education and what needs to happen to fix it. My first post addresses “thinking beyond the bubbles.”

My husband is a member of the National Association for Music Education and whenever information is sent to the house or email by them, we both read it with great interest. They currently have a push to move beyond the use of standardized tests to judge a student’s intelligence and potential. Anyone who reads my blog regularly knows of my disdain for standardized tests, especially when school funding and programs are cut to focus more on testing. Well, the NAfME’s new campaign shines a light on the importance of music education and how it helps students improve in school and life development. To quote their campaign…

“Music not only impacts academic achievement, it also shapes the way our students understand themselves and the world around them. Let’s think beyond the bubbles™ and educate the whole student.”

There is nothing that frustrates me more than when I see music and arts programs cut in schools in favor of test prep, sports, or other areas a bureaucrat feels is more important. Every time a music or art program is cut, that school is telling those students what they excel in doesn’t matter and they are not important.

I’ve been told by some “it isn’t like many of those children are going to become professional musicians.” Well, probably not, but many of those football players aren’t going to the NFL either.

As I have said in multiple previous blog posts, I credit the music program in my high school with the person I have become. I learned about more than music, which I loved, but I learned about teamwork, built confidence, and responsibility, to name a few important life skills.

If you are a student, parent, board of education member, teacher, or other school advocate, I encourage you to go to the NAfME’s website and learn about this important campaign.

1 Comment »

  1. […] First of all, I HATE STEM. As many of my regular readers know, the lack of the arts in school today has me over the top annoyed. […]

    Pingback by The “selling out” of the sisterhood | I Have a Gripe — November 13, 2016 @ 7:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

