I Have a Gripe

June 15, 2016

Fashion News Flash – Real Women Have Curves

Filed under: Fashion — alvb1227 @ 2:37 pm
Tags: , ,

Anyone who knows me knows that I absolutely HATE shopping for clothes and shoes. Yarn shop? Book store? Fly fishing shop? I’m all there. Clothes and shoes? I would rather have my teeth drilled.

Like many, as I have aged, my weight has increased. I have curves. I am not the skinny kid I once was. Now I understand it isn’t healthy. I work to lose weight by eating right and getting exercise in where I can. Mind you, I was never a fan of exercise. You needed an excuse to get out of gym in school? I was your girl. I thought gym in school was the biggest waste of my time – ever. Why go to gym when I could go to band?

Yet, I digress.

The point is I now have put on more weight than I would like. Still I am not obese. But I avoid clothes shopping like the plague. I wear clothes I have “broken in” until they fall apart. Which is exactly what is happening with my last two pair of jeans. So I headed to my normal “go-to” store – Macy’s.

Wow – what a frustrating evening. Two hours to find two pair or reasonably-priced jeans that fit comfortably.

SuperSkinny

Super Skinny by Levi’s for $88.

First what blew my mind were the prices. Over $100 for jeans? Seriously??? Even Levi’s are quite outrageous. Second, there is actually a style of Levi’s called “Super Skinny.” Crazy. I mean, is being “Super Skinny” too thin?

 

Now, let’s move on to the sizes. I finally discover a brand that is reasonable and has the stone-washed color I like. If you are above a size six, options are quite limited. When I asked for a boot cut in my size, I went sent to the “mom jeans” section. Thanks. I appreciate it.

I am a woman. I have curves. I am tall. Like I said, I could stand to lose a few pounds to be more healthy, but I refuse to be body shamed.

Now, let’s move onto shoe shopping. Again, not a fan.

I have had problems with my hips, knees, and ankles since birth. As a result, I am not really able to wear heels. I need a wide, flat shoe in a size 9 1/2. If I do need or want a heel, I need something wide or chunky. My mother used to call the type of shoes I needed the “pink elephant.” It just doesn’t exist.

I can never find shoes that fit properly. When I do find something I like that doesn’t fall under “old lady orthopedic,” I will actually purchase several pair so I can avoid shoe shopping for as long as possible. My last multi-purchase? Mary Janes by Earth Shoes. Of course the style I liked is now discontinued.

Is there nothing stylish for people like me? I remember awhile back I ran into a woman who found herself in the same situation as me after ankle surgery. She looked like she was ready to burst into tears. I knew exactly how she felt. I gave her some suggestions and helped as best as possible to find something that fit well, was stylish, and she liked. I really felt for her.

So here I am left with shoes that aren’t stylish and mom jeans. I have to believe I am not alone.

DeejaeHarperSo as I said in my headline, I have a newsflash for designers. Adult women have curves and are not a size two. Additionally, we generally cannot afford $100 for one pair of jeans. At that point you are paying for the brand on your ass. Jeans and jeans.

And the same holds true for shoe designers. There are others like me who can’t wear four inch heels. We would like some style beyond “orthopedic.”

But at the end of the day, I refuse to be body shamed. I hope others will resist body shaming as well. Be healthy. Don’t be a size two.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

